Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 10th, 2012


Hello people, today I have been pondering on what it would be like to actually own the “Book of Ascension”. Or more importantly what it would be like to be an “Ascendant”. Now obviously this is an easy question to answer, as I am sure it would suck!

Sure you would be the most powerful person on earth and rich beyond your wildest dreams, but only at the cost of being a target for anyone else that knows about the book and wants it for themselves. Anyone that does want it would surely perform a great deal of unsavoury acts and devilishly cunning plans in order to attain the mystical knowledge contained within.

So anyone that was an “Ascendant” would need to know some form of self-defence, in case of an encounter with the latest assassins and bounty hunters tasked with attaining the prized possession should occur, after all there is only so much that power and wealth can protect.

It was this train of thought that lead me to do some research on a suitable form of self-defence that my main character would use if such an encounter would present itself. I told myself that whatever I chose as his style, must first and foremost reflect his personality and it had to be something that is realistic. I did not want the book to end up being “Hollywood” in its approach to the action segments of the book. As I pointed out in one of my previous post’s here on the blog, I wanted the approach towards violence and action in the story to be realistic first and foremost, to prevent it from being unbelievable and “popcorn movie-esque” in its approach.

That is not to say that I don’t want those segments in the book to be as thrilling and entertaining to read as a blockbuster movie though. So after much comparative research on different styles of self-defence and martial arts, I found myself unsatisfied with what I could find, nothing felt believable, nothing fitted the character without making him some sort of action hero.

I decided to have him learn the art of using a gun, target practice and a silenced pistol is a good self-defence method. Point and shoot right? Okay I will have him learn that, but he needs a back up method in case he has runs out of bullets or is disarmed or something, so I pondered some more!

The style I chose was going to have to be something that anyone can learn with ease and was also a guaranteed confrontation finisher if used against any type of opponent regardless of their strength or skill.

So that’s when I decided to dream up my own philosophy of self-defence for my character to use. In essence it is best described as “primal survival”. A form of savagery that makes the makes the user succumb to their animal instincts and survive at any cost, the only knowledge it requires is the basic knowledge of weaknesses of the human body and its limits.

primal survival

Everyone has eyes in their face so why punch someone in the face and hope they are knocked out? why not just get close enough to your opponent in order to puncture his eyeballs? That would surely stop your attacker from perusing you would it not?

 

Normal people would find it hard to do something like this because, well its pretty gruesome and not to mention what the legal ramifications of blinding someone or tearing their throat out would imply.

But that is the point, Saul has the survival instinct and nature to be able to do this sort of thing without conscience or hesitation if he needed, and the fact that he is an “Ascendant” places him above the law so there are no ramifications to consider. Saul is not a normal person.

So a self-defence strategy that is based around survival by ending your opponents existence as fast as possible. Using lethal attacks to tear, gouge, bite, rip and rend at the opponents weakest and most vulnerable parts of the body.

Hmmm… interesting, but there’s something missing. He needs something in order to make this easier. Saul is not a mutant or wolf man, no he is far better. He is human. But he needs to be able to tear, gouge, bite and rip with ease.

Hmmm… I know, he will use this!

Primal glove

This is the only thing I could find on Google images that was similar to what I had in mind. It  is less dramatic looking than this and less erotic in my imagination. ^__^

Read Full Post »


I found this very helpful, hope you do to! ^__^

Hoover's Corner

Today I want to elaborate on a topic I touched on yesterday. I would argue, at least from my own experience, writing is very hard work. It’s not easy to write a story. Everything is against you. Time, quality, need of story, Writing is hard...but that's the easy part of writing....laziness, readiness, you can name a hundred different obstacles you have to overcome just to write the story. The one thing I have to dismiss, mostly out of observation and verifiable evidence, is talent. Talent in any form is absolutely unnecessary when it comes to writing the story. I wish it were otherwise, but that’s simply the case. You don’t need talent to write a story. I know this from experience because I have seen many stories, published and unpublished, that were written and conceived without any verifiable talent in evidence.

Furthermore, talent is unnecessary (as much as it pains me to admit) when it comes to…

View original post 755 more words

Read Full Post »

